CALL TODAY (561) 360-3785 - SE HABLA ESPAÑOL - BESZÉLÜNK MAGYARUL

CALL NOW! (561) 360-3785

Aggressive Trial Attorneys
Dedicated to Our Clients & Their Cases
Over a Decade of Trial Experience
Personally Handling All Cases
Former Prosecutors Fighting for You
Image Slider

Free 30 minute case evaluation

Theft Crimes

WEST PALM THEFT CRIME LAWYERS

Theft, as defined under Florida Statute § 812.014, is the act of knowingly taking or trying to take, or using or trying to use another person’s property with the intent to temporarily or permanently deprive the other person of the right to that property or a benefit from that property.

Even if you return stolen items before the police are called, you can still be arrested for theft. Whether you take something that isn’t yours and put it back or try and take something that isn’t yours, but aren’t successful, you can be charged with theft under Florida law.

Contact us for a FREE case evaluation.

Types of theft under Florida law

Petit theft and grand theft are the two categories of theft under Florida law. Petit theft is a misdemeanor and grand theft is a felony. What separates them is the dollar value of the items stolen and the types of items taken.

Petit Theft

Petit theft can be a second- or first-degree misdemeanor in Florida.

  • Second-degree petit theft is the lowest level theft offense and is charged when the value of the stolen property is less than $100.
    • The maximum penalty you face when charged with second-degree petit theft is a fine of no more than $500 and imprisonment for up to 60 days.
  • First-degree petit theft is charged when the property that was allegedly stolen is valued at $100 or more, but less than $300. It can also be charged for any second or subsequent petit theft regardless of the value of the allegedly stolen property.
    • This theft offense is punishable as a misdemeanor by up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.

There are a number of different legal strategies that can be explored to defend your petit theft case. Contact us to speak with an experienced theft lawyer now for a FREE consultation.

Grand Theft
Grand theft also is charged in varying degrees depending on the circumstances. The majority of grand thefts are usually charged along the following lines:

  • Third-degree grand theft is charged for property valued between $300 and $20,000.
    • A sentence for this crime can result in up to 5 years of imprisonment, court ordered restitution, and additional fines.
  • Second-degree grand theft is charged for property valued between $20,000 and $100,000.
    • A sentence for this crime can result in up to 15 years of imprisonment, court ordered restitution, and additional fines.
  • First-degree grand theft is charged for property valued at $100,000 and above.
    • A sentence for this crime can result in up to 30 years of imprisonment, court ordered restitution, and additional fines.
  • Grand theft of a vehicle (commonly called Grand Theft Auto) is a third-degree felony.
    • A sentence for this crime can result in up to 5 years of imprisonment, court ordered restitution, and additional fines.

It is important to note that the above is not a complete, detailed breakdown of Florida law with respect to thefts. Florida Statute § 812.014 is highly detailed, and a small change in facts, like where the theft occurred, or whether there was any property damage caused by the theft can significantly impact how a case may be charged by the State and what penalties you might face if accused.
The theft defense lawyers at Prestia Holtz P.A. have years of experience in handling theft cases and have argued them from both sides of the courtroom. We marshal that experience and combine it with skill and dedication to our clients in order to give them the best representation we can.

Contact Prestia Holtz P.A today for a free consultation about the legal help you need to fight your theft case!

Video from youtube (what is the difference between petit theft and grand theft?)